[you've all saved me. thank you.]

* * * *

madpilot.katbjelland

*you are the one that feels that no ones home* to be left alone is the marrow from my bones* you are the one* feel like a motherfucker* when the curly black hair on my sweater spells S.A.M. was here last winter* you are the one* serves me warm russian tea* our love carves our love into a tree* mad pilot fly into the mire* mad angels fly* you are my sky*

* * * *

siren.toriamos.

and you know you're gonna lie to you in your own way* and i lie some other day* you do, yeah * and you say girl * know know too well* know the chill* know she breaks* my siren* know teenage flesh* know the chill* know she breaks* my siren* now i know the chill* no i* NEVER was one for a prissy girl* coquette* calling for an ambulance* reach high* doesn't mean shes holy* just means* shes got a cellular handy* almost brave* almost pregnant* almost in love* vanilla* and you know you're gonna lie to you* in your own way* and you don't need* the light on* to guide you through the southern lands* go said go yes* know know too well* know the chill* know she breaks* my siren* know teenage flesh* know the chill* know she breaks* my siren* now i know the chill* no i* NEVER was one for a prissy girl* coquette* calling for an ambulance* reach high* doesn't mean shes holy* just means* shes got a cellular handy* almost brave* almost pregnant* almost in love* vanilla*

* * * *

puttingthedamageon.toriamos

*glue stuck to my shoes* does anyone know why* you play with an orange rind* you say you packed my things* and divided what was mine* you're off to the mountain top* i say her skinny legs could use sun* but now i'm wishing* for my best impression* of my best angie dickinson* but now i've got to worry* cause boy, you still look pretty when you're putting the damage on* don't make me scratch on your door* i never left you for a banjo* i only just turned around for a poodle and a corvette * and my impression of my best angie dickinson* but now i've got to worry* cause boy you still look pretty when you're putting the damage on* i'm trying not to move* it's just your ghost passing through* i said I'm trying not to move* it's just your ghost passing through* it's just your ghost passing through* and now i'm not quite sure* there's a light in your platoon* i never seen a light move like yours can do to me* so now i'm wishing for my best impression of my best angie dickinson* but now i've got to worry* cause boy you still look pretty to me * but i've got a place to go* i've got a ticket to your late show* and now i'm worrying* cause even still you sure are pretty when you're putting the damage on* yes when you're putting the damage on* you're just so pretty* when you're putting the damage on *

* * * *

talkshowhost.radiohead

*i want to* i want to be someone else or i'll explode* floating upon the surface for the birds* the bird* the birds* you want me* fucking well come and find me* i'll be waiting* with a gun and a pack of sandwiches* and nothing* nothing* nothing* nothing* you want me* well, come on and break the door down* you want me* fucking come on and break the door down* i'm ready* i'm ready* i'm ready* i'm ready* i'm ready*

* * * *

talula.toriamos

*congratulate you* said you had a double tongue* balancing cake and bread* say goodbye to a glitter girl* talula, talula* you don't want to lose her* she must be worth losing if it is worth something* talula,talula* she's brand new now to you* wrapped in your papoose* your little fig newton* say goodbye to the old world* ran into the henchman who severed anne boleyn* he did it right quickly* a merciful man* she said 1+1 is 2 *but henry said that it was 3* so it was here i am* talula, talula* i don't want to lose it* it must be worth losing it it is worth something* talula talula* she's brand new now to you* wrapped in your papoose* your little fig newton* and jamaica* do you know what i have done* mary m weaving on* said what you want is in the blood senators** i got big bird on the fishing line* with a bit of a shout* a bit of a shout* a bit of an angry snout* he's my favourite hooker of the whole bunch* and I know about his only bride* and how the russians die on the ice* i got my rape hat on* honey but i always could accessorise* and i never cared too much for the money* but i know right now *that it's in god's hands* but i don't know who the father is*

* * * *

cloudonmytongue.toriamos

*someone's knocking on my kitchen door* leave the wood outside* all the girls here are freezing cold* leave me with your borneo* i don't need much to keep me warm* don't stop now what you're doin* what you're doin my ugly one *bring them all here* hard to hide a hundred girls in your hair* it won't be fair if i hate her* if i ate her* you can go now* you're already in there* i'll be wearing your tattoo* you're already in there* got a cloud sleeping on my tongue * he goes* then it goes* and kiss the violets as they're waking up* leave me with your borneo* leave me the way i was before* you're already in there* i'll be wearing your tattoo* i'm already in* circles and circles and circles again* the girl's in circles and circles and circles again* got to stop spinning* circles and circles and circles again* thought i was over the bridge now*

* * * *

garden.anidifranco

*some crazy fucker carved a sculpture out of butter and propped it up in the middle of the bonanza breakfast bar* and i am stuffing toast and sausage into my pockets under a sign that says "grand opening" while my dog is waiting in the car* i wake up, check out, yeah* i fill the tank and wash the windshield clean and then i'm back out on the highway* and bang, that's when i remember my dream* we were standing in the garden and i had a machine that played silence* just sucked up the whole opinionated din* and there were no people on the payroll and there were no monkeys on our backs* and i said, baby, show me what you look like without skin* science chases money, and money chases its tail, and the best minds of my generation can't make bail*but the bacteria are coming to take us down, that's my prediction*it's the answer to this culture of the quick fix prescription* but in the garden of simple, where all of us are nameless, you were never anything but beautiful to me *and you know they never really owned you, you just carried them around *and then one day you put 'em down and found your hands were free* so now it's early in the morning at the longitude of memphis and the sun is setting sweetly on hong kong* and the big planets just keep spinning, 'cos the big bang is just beginning and sometimes it's all that we can do just to hang on *and what i meant to say is "mwah!", which means i.m thinking of you... which means i've been thinking of you all along*

* * * *

outofhabit.anidifranco

*the butter melts out of habit* the toast isn't even warm* the waitress and the man in the plaid shirt* play out a scene they've played so many times before* i am watching the sun stumble home in the morning* from a bar on the east side of town* and the coffee is just water dressed in brown* beautiful but boring, he visited me yesterday* he noticed my fingers and asked me if i would play* i didn't really care a lot, but i couldn't think of a reason why not* i said, if you don't come any closer, i don't mind if you stay* my thighs have been involved in many accidents and now i can't get insured, and i don't need to be lured by you* my cunt is built like a wound that won't heal* and now you don't have to ask because you know how i feel* you know how i feel* art is why i get up in the morning, but my definition ends there* and it doesn't seem fair that i'm living for something i can't even define* there you are, right there in the meantime* i don't want to play for you anymore* show me what you can do*tell me what are you here for* i want my old friends*i want my old face* i want my old mind* fuck this time and place* the butter melts out of habit* you know, the toast isn't even warm*

* * * *

makethemapoligize.anidifranco

*my breast is cradled in the curve of my guitar* i'm breaking strings and other things playing hard* no, i'm not on the rag, but i'm not on the run* i am matching the big boys one for one* and i must admit* i'm having myself some fun* cause the music business is still run by men* like every business and everything* but we can sing like a son of a bitch* make them twitch around their eyes* make them apologize* he had a mean streak three miles wide* it was a long walk to the other side* she tried to get through it holding on to her smile* but he wasn't worth the time it takes to make that mistake* he just wasn't worthwhile. she's been under command of the wrong man* and she'll give you everything except the upper hand* she was his mother* and his lover* and his wife* now she wants the luxury of her own life* cause the marriage business is still run by men* like every business and everything* but she can sing like a son of a bitch* make him twitch around his eyes* girl, make him apologize* they all want to lead the fight* and they know what they know all right* but there's so much they don't understand* what about the other sex?* what about the other hand?* they only know what they've been told* and they're well cast* they don't break the mold* and good sources are not enough* so she calls their bluff* yeah, she calls their bluff* cause the revolution business is still run by men* like every business and everything* but we can sing like a son of a bitch* make them twitch around their eyes until they realize* they just don't realize*

* * * *

willingtofight.anidifranco

*the windows of my soul* are made of one way glass* don't bother looking into my eyes* if there's something you want to know* just ask * i got a dead bolt stroll* where i'm going is clear* i won't wait for you to wonder* i'll just tell you why i'm here* cause i know the biggest crime * is just to throw up your hands* say this has nothing to do with me* i just want to live as comfortably as i can* you got to look outside your eyes* you got to think outside your brain* you got to walk outside your life* to where the neighborhood changes* tell me who is your bogeyman* that's who i will be* you don't have to like me for who i am* but we'll see what you're made of by what you make of me* i think that it's absurd * that you think i am the derelict daughter* i fight fire with words* words are hotter than flames* words are wetter than water* i got friends all over this country* i got friends in other countries too* i got friends i haven't met yet* i got friends i never knew* i got lovers whose eyes i've only seen at a glance* i got strangers for great grandchildren* i got strangers for ancestors* i was a long time coming* i'll be a long time gone* you've got your whole life to do something and that's not very long* so why don't you give me a call* when you're willing to fight* for what you think is real* for what you think is right*

* * * *

faceupandsing.anidifranco

*some guy tried to rub up against me in a crowded subway car* some guy tried to feed me some stupid line in some stupid bar* i see the same shit everyday* the landscape looks so bleak*i think i'll take the first one of you home that does something unique* some chick says thank you for saying all the things i never do* i say the thanks i get is to take all the shit for you* it's nice that you listen* it'd be nicer if you joined in* as long as you play their game girl* you're never gonna win* today i just want someone to entertain me* i'm tired of being so fierce* i'm tired of being so friendly* you don't have to be a supermodel to do the animal thing* you don't have to be a supergenius to open your face up and sing* somebody do something* anything soon* i know i can't be the only whatever i am in the room* so why am i so lonely* why am i so tired* i need company* i need backup* i need to be inspired*

* * * *

fallingislikethis.anidifranco

*you give me that look that's like laughing* with liquid in your mouth* like you're choosing between choking* and spitting it all out* like you're trying to fight gravity on a planet that insists* that love is like falling* and falling is like this* feels like reckless driving when we're talking* it's fun while it lasts, and it's faster than walking* but no one's going to sympathize when we crash* they'll say *you hit what you head for, you get what you ask* and we'll say we didn't know* we didn't even try* one minute there was road beneath us* the next just sky* i'm sorry i can't help you* i cannot keep you safe* i'm sorry i can't help myself* so don't look at me that way* we can't fight gravity& on a planet that insists that love is like falling*and falling is like this*

* * * *

ifhetriesanything.anidifranco

*i'm invincible* so are you* we do all the things they say we can't do* we walk around in the middle of the night* and if it's too far to walk* we just hitch a ride* we got rings of dirt around our necks* we talk like auctioneers* and we bounce like checks* we smell like shit* still, when we walk down the street* all the boys line up to throw themselves at our feet* i say, "i think he likes you"* you say, "i think he do too"* go and get him girl* before he gets you* i'll be watching you from the wings* i will come to your rescue* if he tries anything* it's a long, long road* it's a big, big world* we are wise, wise women* we are giggling girls* we both carry a smile to show when we're pleased* we both carry a switchblade in our sleeves* tell you one thing* i'm gonna make noise when i go down* for ten square blocks they're gonna know i died* all the goddesses will come up to the ripped screen door and say* "what do you want, dear?"* and i'll say, "i want inside."* i say, "i think he likes you"* you say, "i think he do too"* go and get him girl* before he gets you* i'll be watching you from the wings*i will come to your rescue if he tries anything*

* * * *

tiptoe.anidifranco

*tiptoeing through the used condoms strewn on the piers off the west side highway* sunset behind the skyline of jersey* walking towards the water with a fetus holding court in my gut* my body high-jacked* my tits swollen and sore* the river has more colors at sunset than my sock drawer ever dreamed of* i could wake up screaming sometimes* but i don't* i could step off the end of this pier* but i've got shit to do and i've an appointment on tuesday to shed uninvited blood and tissue* i'll miss you* i say to the river* to the water* to the son or daughter i thought better of* i could fall in love with jersey at sunset* but i leave the view to the rats and tiptoe back*

* * * *

joga.bjork

all the accidents that happen *follow the dot*coincidence makes sense only with you* you don't have to speak* i feel you* emotional landscapes* they puzzle me* then the riddle gets solved* and you push me up to this state of emergency* how beautiful to be* state of emergency* is where i want to be* all that no-one sees* you see what's inside of me* every nerve that hurts you heal deep inside of me* you don't have to speak* i feel emotional landscapes* they puzzle me* confuse* then the riddle gets solved* and you push me up to this state of emergency* how beautiful to be* state of emergency* is where i want to be* state of emergency* state of emergency*

* * * *

sorryiam.anidifranco

*i'm sorry i didn't sound more excited on the phone* i'm sorry that after all these years* i've left you feeling unrequited and alone* brought you to tears* i guess i never loved you quite as well* as the way you loved me* i guess i'll never really be able to tell you how sorry i am* and i don't know what it is about you* i just know it's not what it was* i don't know why red fades before blue* it just does* and i don't know what it is about me that i just can't keep still* i keep thinking someday i will make this all up to you *and maybe someday i will* i guess i never loved you quite as well as the way you loved me* i guess i'll never really be able to tell you how sorry i am*

* * * *

lightofsomekind.anidifranco

*i wish i didn't have this nervous laugh* i wish i didn't say half the stuff i say* i wish i could just learn to cover my tracks* i guess i'm not concerned about getting away with it* 'cause every time i try to hold my tongue* it slips like a fish from a line* they say if you want to play* you should learn how to play dumb* i guess i can't bring myself to waste your time* cause we both know what i've been doing* i've been intentionally bad at lying* you're the only boy i ever let see through me* and i hope you believe me when i say i'm trying* and i hope i never improve my game* yeah, i'd rather have these things weighing on my mind* and at the end of this tunnel of guilt and shame* there must be a light of some kind* there must be a light of some kind* i musta have blown a fuse or something* cause it was so dark in my mind* she came up to me with the sweetest face* and she was holding a light of some kind* and i still think of you as my boyfriend* i don't think this is the end of the world* but i think maybe you should follow my example* and go meet yourself a really nice girl* in the end the world comes down to just a few people* but for you it comes down to one* but no one ever asked me if i thought i could be everything to someone* there's a crowd of people harbored in every person* there are so many roles that we play* and you've decided to love me for eternity* i'm still deciding who i want to be today*

* * * *

themillionthatyounevermade.anidifranco

*the air comes off the ocean* the city smells fishy* the air is full of fish and mystery* whispering who* what* when* and i am warning you i am weightless* and the wind is always shifting* so don't hang anything on me if you ever want to see it again* i am telling you i'm different than you think i am* and you can dangle your carrot* but i ain't gonna reach for it* cuz i need both my hands to play my guitar* and life is a sleazy stranger who looks vaguely familiar* flirting with a bimbo named disaster at the end of the bar* and i am telling you that i am different than you are* at night when you're asleep* self-hatred's going to creep in* and you can blame it on the devil* the one whos bed you sleep in* and don't tell me what they did to you as though you had no choice* tell me, isn't that your picture* isn't that your voice* if you don't live what you sing about* your mirror is going to find out* i'd like to go to all the pretty parties where all the pretty people go* and i ain't really all that pretty but nobody will know* cuz everybody loves you when you're a star* and nobody questions what it takes to go that far* and life is a sleazy stranger and this is his favorite bar* no i don't prefer obscurity* i'm an idealistic girl* and i wouldn't work for you no matter what you paid* and i may not be able to change the whole fucking world* but i could be the million that you never made* oh yeah, i could be the million that you never made* i could be the million that you'll never make* you're looking at the million that you'll never make*

* * * *

bellsforher.toriamos

*and through the life force and there goes her friend* on her nishiki it's out of time* and through the portal they can make amends* hey would you say whatever* we're blanket friends* can't stop what's coming* can't stop what is on its way* and through the walls they made their mudpies* i've got your mind i said* she said i've got your voice* i said you don't need my voice* girl you have your own* but you never thought it was enough of* so they went years and years* like sisters* blanket girls *always there through this and that and this* there's nothing we cannot ever fix* i said can't stop what's coming* can't stop what is on its way* bells and footfalls and soldiers and dolls* brothers and lovers she and i were* now she seems to be sand under his shoes* there's nothing i can do* can't stop what's coming* can't stop what is on its way* and now i speak to you* are you in there* you have her face and her eyes but you are not her* and we go at each other like blank ettes* who can't find their thread and their bare* can't stop loving *can't stop what is on its way* and i see it coming and it's on its way*

* * * *

northernlad.toriamos

*had a northern lad* well not exactly had* he moved like the sunset* god who painted that* first he loved my accent* how his knees could bend* i thought we'd be ok* me and my molasses* but i feel something is wrong* but i feel this cake just isn't done* don't say that you don't* and if you could see me now* said if you could see me now* girls you've got to know* when it's time to turn the page* when you're only wet because of the rain* he don't show much these days* it get so fucking cold* i loved our secret places* but i can't go anymore* "you change like sugar cane"* says my northern lad* i guess you go too far when pianos try to be guitars* i feel the west in you* and i feel it falling apart too* don't say that you don't*

* * * *

feelsblind.bikinikill

*all the doves that fly past my eyes* have a stickiness to their wings* in the doorway of my demise i stand* encased in the whisper you taught me* how does it feel* it feels blind* how does it feel* well it feels fucking blind* what have you taught me* nothing* look what you've taught me* your world has taught me nothing* if you were blind and there was no braille* there are no boundaries on what i can feel* if you could see* but were always taught* what you saw wasn't fucking real yeah* how does it feel* it feels blind* how does it feel* well it feels fucking blind* what have you taught me* nothing* look what you've taught me* your world has taught me nothing* as a woman i was always taught to be hungry* yeah women are well acquainted with thirst* and we could eat just about anything* we might even eat your hate up like love* i eat your hate like love* i eat your hate like love* i eat your hate like love* i eat your hate like love* i eat your hate like love* i eat your hate like love* how does it feel* it feels blind *how does it feel* well it feels fucking blind* what have you taught me* nothing* look what you've taught me* your world has taught me nothing*

* * * *

whiteboy.bikinikill

*lay me spread eagle out on your hill yeah* then write a book 'bout how i wanted to die* it's hard to talk with your dick in my mouth* i will try to scream in pain a little nicer next time* white boy* don't laugh *don't cry* just die* i'm so sorry if i'm alienating some of you* your fucking culture alienates me* i cannot scream in pain from down here on my knees* i'm so sorry that i think* white boy* don't laugh* don't cry* just die*

* * * *

fortammyrae.bikinikill

*past the billboards and the magazines* i dream about being with you* we can't hear a word they say* let's pretend we own the world today* i know it's cold outside* but when we're together* i got nothing to hide* hold on tight* i will never let you down* it can't rain on our side of town* wipe the sweat from my hair* tell me we're not better off* wipe the tears from my face* the sunny side of the street where we are*

* * * *

jetski.bikinikill

*ain't got* no more* no more candy for you* i'm not your rocket ship or your motor boat* your movie set or your cartoon show* not your fucking VCR* not your avante garde post card idea* i'm not your oilwell* i'm not your bloodbank* i'm not your bullet proof vest or your visa card* i ain't got no more candy for you* i said i'm not your vacation spot* i'm not your footnote freakshow or your latest cause* i'm not your view to a kill* i'm not your background tune* i'm not the nutty story that your neighbors been telling to you* i ain't got no more candy for you* i said i'm not your oilwell* i'm not your dimestore novel or your prison cell* i ain't got no more candy for you*

* * * *

rip.bikinikill

*i can't say everything about it* in just one single song* i can't put how i feel in a package* and sell it back to everyone* but wait* there's another boy genius whose fucking gone* i hope the food tastes better in heaven* i hope every time they talk to you* they know they're lucky to be your friend* 'cause look there's another boy genius whose fucking gone* and i wouldn't be so fucking mad *so fucking pissed off* if it wasn't so fucking wrong* it's all fucking wrong* it's not fair* it's not fair* it's not fucking fair* but no one said life was easy yeah* but no one said *no one said nothing's supposed to happen right* no no one told me anything* to prepare me for fucking this* there's another boy genius whose fucking gone* don't tell me it don't matter* don't tell me i've had three days to get over it* it won't go away* it just won't go away*

* * * *

thisbouquet.anidifranco

*got a garden of songs where i grow all my thoughts* wish i could have a harvest one or two for some small talk* seems like i'm starving for words whenever you're around* nothing on my tongue and so much in the ground* nothing on my tongue and so much in the ground* half the time i got my gaze trained on your motel door* fourth door from the end* rest of the time my gaze lays like a stain on the carpeted floor* if it weren't for my brain i'd just go over and make friends* too bad about my brain cuz i'd like to make friends* see the little songbird unable to make a sound* you'll never know she follows her words from town to town* we both got gardens of songs* and maybe it's okay that i am speechless cuz i picked you this bouquet* yup, sure am speechless, but i picked you this bouquet*

* * * *

dilate.anidifranco

*life used to be life-like* now it's more like show biz* i wake up in the night* and i don't know where the bathroom is* and i don't know what town i'm in* or what sky i am under* and i wake up in the darkness* and i don't have the will anymore to wonder* everyone has a skeleton and a closet to keep it in and you're mine* every song has a you* a you that the singer sings to* and you're it this time* baby, you're it this time* when i need to wipe my face i use the back of my hand* and i like to take up space just because i can* and i use my dress to wipe up my drink*you know i care less and less what people think* you are so lame* you always disappoint me* it's kinda like our running joke* but it's not really funny* i just want you to live up to the image of you i created* i see you and i'm so unsatisfied* i see you and i dilate* so i'll walk the plank and i'll jump with a smile* if i'm gonna go down, i'm gonna do it with style* and you won't see me surrender*you won't hear me confess*cuz you've left me with nothing* but i've worked with less* and i learn every room long enough to make it to the door* and then i hear it click shut behind me* and every key works differently* i forget every time* and the forgetting defines me* that's what defines me* when i say you sucked my brain out* the english translation is i am in love with you and it is no fun* but i don't use words like love* 'cuz words like that don't matter* but don't look so offended* you know, you should be flattered* i wake up in the night in some big hotel bed* my hands grope for the light* my hands grope for my head* the world is my oyster* the road is my home* and i know i'm better off alone*

* * * *

goingdown.anidifranco

*you can't get through it* you can't get over it* you can't get around* just like in a dream* you'll open your mouth to scream and you won't make a sound* you can't believe your eyes* you can't believe your ears* you can't believe your friends* you can't believe you're here*and you're not going to get through it* so you are going down* i put a cup on the windowsill to catch the water as it fell* now i got a glass half full of rain to measure the time in between when you said you'd come and when you actually came* little mister limp dick is up to his same old tricks and thought he'd call me one last time* but i'm just about done with the oh-woe-is-me shit* and i want everything back that's mine*

* * * *

adamandeve.anidifranco

*tonight you stooped to my level* i am your mangy little whore* now you're trying to find your underwear* and then your socks and then the door* and your trying to find a reason why you have to leave* but i know it's cuz you think you're adam* and you think i'm eve* you rhapsodize about beauty* and my eyes glaze* everything i love is ugly* i mean really, you would be amazed* just do me a favor* it's the least that you can do* just don't treat me like i am something that happened to you* i am truly sorry about all this* you put a tiny pin prick in my big red balloon* and as i slowly start to exhale* that's when you leave the room* i did not design this game* i did not name the stakes* i just happen to like apples and i am not afraid of snakes* i am truly sorry about all this* i envy you, your ignorance* i hear that it's bliss* so i let go the ratio of things said to things heard* as i leave you to your garden and the beauty you preferred* and i wonder what of this will have meaning for you* when you've left it all behind* i guess i'll even wonder if you meant it at the time*

* * * *

hideandseek.anidifranco

*me and the other kids from the neighborhood* we played out on the street all summer long* rule was, we had to go home at night when the street lights came on* we were oblivious to the rest of the world* and we'd hold up the cars in the street* and we'd always play boys against girls* and both sides would cheat* strange men would stop their cars at the curb and say* "hey, sweetheart, come here."* i'd go up to the window and they'd have their dick out in their hand and a sick little sneer* i'd say, "here we go again. yeah, ok, this time you win."* and i'd feel dirty* i'd feel ashamed* but i wouldn't let it stop my game* we would play hide and go seek and territory would be the whole block* sometimes the older boys* when they'd find you they wouldn't want to tag you* they'd just wanna talk* they'd say, "what would you do for a quarter? come on, we don't have much time."* then i'd think for a minute and say, "ok, give me the quarter first...fine." * this time you win* here we go again* and i would feel dirty *and i'd feel ashamed* but i wouldn't let it stop my game* i remember my first trip alone on the greyhound bus* a man put his hands on me as soon as night fell* i remember when i was leaving, how excited i was* i remember when i arrived* i didn't feel so well* i remember a teacher in school that got me so sick* so scared that i went into the bathroom and threw up in my hair* and i could go on and on* it just gets worse* and i should probably stop* girl, next time he wants to know what your problem is* girl, next time he wants to know where the anger comes from* just tell him this time the problem's his* tell him the anger just comes, it just comes*

* * * *

lashes.katbjelland

*she screams sweet hell* in her old white nighty* with rips and tears, she's too aware* see through big black bombs* that explodes on chickens* all the while she thickens* from ...cracks in the mortar* cracks in the mortal* baby's got ruby jewel lashes* that'll whip your spine* i see you grew into* that stiff gray suit they've sewn for you* scrubbed you clean* now you forgot what you mean* wimpworm completely thick* it's you who makes me sick* with a great old brick and mortar ...*cracks in the mortar* cracks in the mortal*cracks in the mortar* baby's got ruby jewel lashes*that'll whip your spine* everytime she blinks*makes you sink into ruby*ruby* ruby jewel lashes* so i put on my best sunday dress* and i waltz into this mess* posing as a guest* or something much less* than a crazy old doll in a crazy old dress* cracks in the mortar*cracks in the mortar*cracks in the mortar*baby's got ruby jewel lashes* that'll whip your spine* well the thin moon sugar* it shines like a wino* the thin moon sugar* it shines likes a wino* the thin moon sugar shines like a wino 4 me*

* * * *

laredo.katbjelland

*tear your wings off at the spine and tape them to the back of mine* i can fly higher when i'm tired* my 2 hands are scorched from holding this torch* mind feels like neon all glowing and bent up* you look good on my back like a shark fin* rectify desensitized* 'tis the season to drink poison* tra la la was a bad head girl* your mind's gone greasy it slides right off me* and all the jaded stars spit black cigars* no truce for you* a spec of something that i knew* yes i read what you did* and i see what you did*

* * * *

bluebell.katbjelland

*flys through the air with the greatest disease* takes little pills and calls them trapeze* i know you're right* everything you do is right* everything I do is true* bluebell to hell* lo and behold a girl with a goal* looks so old she's made out of gold* i want to live in the smallest corner of the densest mind of the fuckmost room and sing the stars they swing from the chandelier strings* you know who you are* you dead meat motherfucker* you don't try to rape a goddess* you are so obvious*

* * * *

memory.katbjelland

*memory* hide and seek *halloween * men or me* you decide what's on the mind coming in from the other side* look what you done to me* following following* look what you done to me* shadowing shallowing* the other side* i knew you first* i loved you first* i am the first* pokin naked ruthie with a sharp-end stick shit* i am mean* memory* hide and seek* halloween* you know me* look what you done to me* following following* look what you done to me* sallow & shallowing* the other side* i knew you first* i loved you first* i am yr curse* you decide what's on your mind coming in from the other side look what you done to me ...*

* * * *

fuel.anidifranco

*they were digging a new foundation in manhattan and they discovered a slave cemetery there* may their souls rest easy now that lynching is frowned upon and we've moved onto the electric chair* and i wonder who's gonna be president, tweedle dum or tweedle dumber* and who's gonna have the big blockbuster box office this summer* how 'bout we put up a wall between houses and the highway and you can go your way* i can go my way* except all the radios agree with all the tvs* and the magazines agree with all the radios* and i keep hearing that same damn song everywhere i go* maybe i should put a bucket over my head and a marshmallow in each ear and stumble around for another dumb numb week for another hum-drum hit song to appear* people used to make records as in a record of event* the event of people playing music in a room* now everything is cross-marketing* it's about sunglasses and shoes or guns or drugs* you choose* we got it rehashed* we got it half-assed* we're digging up all the graves and we're spitting on the past* and we can choose between the colors of the lipstick on the whores* cuz we know the difference between the font of twenty percent more and the font of teriyaki* you tell me* how does it make you feel* you tell me what's real* and they say that alcoholics are always alcoholics even when they're as dry as my lips for years* even when they're stranded on a small desert island with no place in two thousand miles to buy beer* and i wonder is he different* is he different* has he changed what he's about* or is he just a liar with nothing to lie about* am i headed for the same brick wall* is there anything i can do about anything at all* except go back to that corner in manhattan and dig deeper* dig deeper this time* down beneath the impossible pain of our history* between unknown bones beneath the bedrock of the mystery* beneath the sewage system and the path train* beneath the cobblestones and the water main* beneath the traffic of friendships and street deals* beneath the screeching of kamikaze cab wheels* beneath everything i can think of to think about* beneath it all* beneath it all to get out* beneath the good and the kind and the stupid and the cruel* there's a fire just waiting for fuel*

* * * *

gravel.anidifranco

*i heard the sound of your bike* as your wheels hit the gravel* then your engine in the driveway cutting off* and i pushed through the screen door* and stood out on the porch thinking "fight, fight, fight at all costs"* but instead i let you in* just like i've always done* i sat you down and offered you a beer* and across the kitchen table i fired several rounds* but you were still sitting there when the smoke cleared* and you came crawling back to say that you wanna make good in the end* oh, let me count the ways that i abhor you* you were never a good lay* and you were never a good friend* but oh, what can i say, i adore you* all i need is my leather, one t-shirt, and two socks* i'll keep my hands warm in your pockets and you can use the engine block* we'll ride out to california with my arms around your chest* and i'll pretend that this is real* 'cuz this is what i like best* you've been juggling two women like a stupid circus clown* telling us both we are the one* and maybe you can keep me from ever being happy* but you're not gonna stop me from having fun* so lets go before i change my mind* i'll leave the luggage of all your lies behind* because i am bigger than everything that came before* you were never very kind* and you let me way down every time* but oh, what can i say* i adore you* i heard the sound of your bike as your wheels hit the gravel* then your engine in the driveway cutting off*

* * * *

swandive.anidifranco

*i'm cradling the softest, warmest part of you in my hands* feels like a little baby bird fallen from the nest* i think that your body is something i understand* i think that i'm happy* i think that i'm blessed* i've got a lack of information* i've had a loss of perspective* i've had a little bit to drink and it's making me think* that i can jump ship and swim* that the ocean will hold me* that there's got to be more than this boat i'm in* they can call me crazy if i fail* all the chance that i need is one-in-a-million* and they can call me brilliant if i succeed* gravity is nothing to me* moving at the speed of sound* i'm just gonna get my feet wet until i drown* i teeter between tired and really, really tired* i'm wiped and i'm wired, but i guess that's just as well*cuz i've built my own empire out of car tires and chicken wire*and i'm queen of my own compost heap* and i'm getting used to the smell* i've had a lack of information* i've had a little revelation* i'm climbing up on the railing trying not to look down* i'm gonna do my best swan dive into shark-infested waters* i'm gonna pull out my tampon and start splashing around* cuz i don't care if they eat me alive* i've got better things to do than survive* i've got a memory of your warm skin in my hand * and i've got a vision of blue sky and dry land* i'm cradling the hardesd* heaviest part of me in my hands* the ship is pitching and heaving* our limbs are bobbing and weaving* i think this is something i understand* i just need a couple vaccinations for my far-away vacation* i'm going to go ahead and go boldly* cuz a little bird told me that jumping is easy* that falling is fun* right up until you hit the sidewalk, shivering and stunned* they can call me crazy if i fail. all the chance that i need is one-in-a-million* and they can call me brilliant if i succeed* gravity is nothing to me moving at the speed of sound* i'm just gonna get my feet wet until i drown*

* * * *

independenceday.anidifranco

*we drove the car to the top of the parking ramp, 4th of july* sat out on the hood with a couple of warm beers and watched the fireworks explode in the sky* there was an exodus of birds from the trees* cuz they didn't know we were only pretending* and the people all looked up and looked pleased* and the birds flew around like the whole world was ending* i don't think war is noble* and i don't like to think that love is like war* but i gotta big hot cherry bomb* and i want to slip it through the mail slot of your front door* you can't leave me here* i've got your back now, you'd better have mine* cuz you say the coast is clear, but you say that all the time* so many sheep i quit counting* sleepless and embarrassed about the way that i feel* trying to make mole hills out of mountains* building base camp at the bottom of a really big deal* and did i tell you how i stopped eating when you stopped calling me* i was cramped up and shitting rivers for weeks, and pretending that i was finally free* you can't leave me here* now that you're back, you'd better stay this time* cuz you say the coast is clear, but you say that all the time* we drove the car to the top of the parking ramp, 4th of july* i planted my dusty boots on the bumper*sat on the hood*and looked up at the sky.

* * * *

virtue.anidifranco

*virtue is relative at best* there's nothing worse than a sunset when you're driving due west* and i'm afraid that my love is gonna come up short* there is no there there* i guess i'm scared* i want to have good news to report every time when i come up for air* now i'm cruising through a chromakey of a blue sky* but i know that in an an hour or three the suns gonna be in my eye* i know that sometimes all i can see is how i feel* like the whole world is on the other side of a dirty windshield* and i am trying to see through the glare. yeah, i'm struggling just to see what is there* the one person who really knows me best says i'm like a cat* yeah, the kind of cat that you just can't pick up and throw into your lap* the kind that doesn't mind being held only when its her idea* yeah, the kind that feels what she decides to feel she is good and ready to feel* and now i am crawling through the backyard* i am hiding under the car* i have gotten out of everything i've gotten into so far* i eat when i am hungry and i travel alone* and just outside the glow of the house is where i feel most at home* but in the window you sometimes appear* and your music is faint in my ear*

* * * *

iwanttoknowwhatloveis.julieruin

*how many girls stay awake all night *too scared to sleep and too scared to fight back *i know you know what I'm talking about *another woman killed and hardly a pout about it *green river killer my fucking ass*the cops have got to be deaf, dumb, and spastic*to not catch the killer of a hundred women* i guess it'd be different if they thought we were human*i wanna know what love is*what if we all got guns *to off the pigs and all the other motherfuckers *raping the children they paint like dolls *jon benet didn't scream cuz she never fucking was* come on now the police aren't gonna save you*they're part of the problem that society gave you*locking up black men for whistling in the wind * you see a mirage when you call a cop your friend * i wanna know what love is*the killers and the cops give us special advice *like cross your legs and act fucking nice*while they kill us off old and young *for breathing, relieving and having fun *they'll keep you scared so you have to have a boyfriend *and take your kids if your a la la lesbian* arrest you for whoring then rape you in the car *its time we point the finger at who the real criminals are* i wanna know what love is and i want you to show me *so i'll stay awake almost everynight * a pen in my hand and in the other a knife *cuz i'd rather be scared and fight back * than be some dick's maid, babe or wife *

* * * *

knownowthen.anidifranco

*it's not so much that we got closer* it's that her face just got bigger* and by the time it was filling up my whole view* i figured my face had got bigger too* so i used it to try and sway her* say something to her* make my case* but my face never had a chane* all along it was the wrong song and dance* so i just stood there without even a stance* helpless to her advances and retreat*... backspace, delete* it wasnt so much that we fell in love* as my life just seemed to come down to a slow walk, on a straight line between her smile, and her frown* maybe we were never as close as we should have been* but i didn't know, what i know now, then*

* * * *

cloudblood.anidifranco

*i've been wondering what you meant when you asked, "do you have a light?"* i've been wondering where you went when you left that party that night* cloud blood smudge smeared on the sky, it's dawn's roadkill* i've been driving since midnight and i'm driving still* stop on the top of the ridge just to feel the wind on my rand mcnally* then i feel the air grow cold as i drift to the first blue of the valley* and you're wondering how far down you are on my call back list* but you don't realize everytime i find i'm by a phone the landscape shifts* every other song someone's trying to write angels into the world* every ace, every grace, every near miss, every decent kiss by a pretty girl* she was an angel. she looked like an angel. and all of the angels did sing, and the angels were watching, and the angels were listening, and the angels were on hand to stand in for everything* you can call it magic when a man pulls a rabbit out of a hat* but the reason i don't call is cause i wonder if there isn't a better word than that* and you can call me crazy* but i think you're as lazy as white paint on the wall* and i know you'll only speak to me in dial tones if i call* it's been way too long since i've been behind the wheel* headlights guiding me right through the dark i feel* driving, trying hard to resist sleep's first kiss* everytime i have time to think* i think of this*

* * * *

swing.anidifranco

she came to and her whole life was how she remembered it* she had a mouth full of fur* and she was laughing* she parked her hearse across three space posted motorcycles only and jumped out shouting* what the cus could make a nice girl like us feel so lonely* are you weary as water in a faucet left dripping* with an incessant sadness like a sad record skipping* and an ugly and ornery and shadowy dread* lurking like a troll under a bridge between your heart and your head* please, dumb blind kind sir lend little miss listless a little bit of christmas* she's been a real good girl but now she's stuck here* the world is so little and still mysterious and ominous as ever before* like an unmarked bottle of pills on the shelf right next to the thing you were reaching for* swing the groove around here where i can reach it* when i get my ass back on track* i'm gonna need it* swing shift down i gotta move* buy me and my baby a moon full of honey* then i'm gonna turn of the nagging voices inside my head that follow me to bed and say you suck*

* * * *

bloodyicecream.bikinikill

the sylvia plath story is told to girls who write* they want us to think that to be a girl poet means you have to die* who is it that told me all the girls who write must suicide* i've another good one for you* we are turning cursive letters into knives*

* * * *

strawberryjulius.bikinikill

*come on* come on* it's you all over my skin* taking invisible streets to the fake place where we win* watch me now* from the back of the room* just don't touch me with your bare hands whatever you do* i wanna burn* baby burn* baby black and blue* burn it baby burn it baby burn with the truth* ask you what the fuck what the fuck what the fuck what the fuck did they do to you* who needs a beat when the beat just goes* i gotta tell you something* i gotta tell you something* i gotta tell you something* your palm the back of my neck* it means more than any porn i wanna forget* maybe baby i just wanna forget* i'll say something wrong* say something wrong wrong right say it so wrong say it wrong say it right* just stay here and be with me for real* stay in your body tonight* i'll be your mama* your sister* i'll be your fucking dad* i'll be the best little baby *that you ever had had* 'cause i got more tongues than just this one* yeah yeah yeah yeah yeah( who needs a beat* i've got to go now* i've got to go now*

* * * *

antipleasuredissertation.bikinikill

*maybe i like you* maybe i don't* maybe i found something real* i just doesn't know if was i wrong to trust anyone* tell me tell me* did you tell them everything i said* did you tell them everything* did you tell them everything i said* did you tell them everything i said* why don't you tell them* did you get a good laugh* tell me was it good* was it good* was it good for you* did you win that race* did you score that point* oh yeah you're so fucking cool fucking cool now* did ya did ya did ya did ya did ya did ya did ya did ya did ya did ya did ya go tell your fucking friends* what i thought and how i felt* how punk fucking rock my pussy smells* now did you tell them* i don't care i don't care i don't care i don't care* i really really don't know* maybe i like you* maybe i don't*

* * * *

ihatedanger.bikinikill

*i said i wanna come over* you said ok just come over* your friends are all on the couch* your friends said let's walk around* i'll pretend your friends are my friends and kinda try not to offend them* but i won't let you see anything real* let you know thers's limits to* i stopped talking an hour ago* i stopped talking an hour ago* i stopped talking an hour ago* i stopped talking an hour ago* it's a predictable point of view this group's dynamic caters to* it's a particular point of view* i dont think you know when it caters to you* and if you do know* don't act like you don't 'cause it's really annoying* and if you don't know*well let's just say you're a lot lot stupider than i thought* i'll pretend your friends are my friends* but i don't wanna hear you defend them* in fact that kind of insults me* and i kinda don't really wanna be here right* i stopped talking an hour ago *i stopped talking an hour ago i stopped talking an hour ago* i stopped talking an hour ago ago* ok you're whole thing put me in negative space for way too fucking long* the only thing i managed to say during that time was i hate danger* what i really should have said was* you're so not dangerous *you're so not what you say you are at all*

* * * *

ilikefucking.bikinikill

hey do you believe there's anything beyond troll-guy reality* i do i do i do * it get's so hard* just to be okay *sometimes being happy baby* is what i'm most afraid of* baby you know* it gets so hard for me to fight* i don't know how * i guess i never did* why don't you show me now* how to lose control* she's so very * i don't care she's so very* i don't care* just 'cause my world sweet sister* is so fucking goddamn full of rape* does that mean my body must always be a source of pain* no no no* she's so very* i don't care *she's so very* i don't care* just 'cause i named it right here sweet chickadee * don't mean for a minute you should think i'm the opposite of anything* but if you wanna know for sure *i'll tell you *we're not gonna prove nothing nohow* sittin' around watching each other starve* what we need is action/strategy* i want i want i want i want it now* i believe in the radical possibilities of pleasure babe* i do i do i do*

* * * *

paranoidandroid.radiohead

*please could you stop the noise* i'm trying to get some rest* from all the unborn chicken voices in my head* what's that...* i may be paranoid, but not an android* what's that...* when i am king, you will be first against the wall* with your opinion which is of no consequence at all*what's that...*i may be paranoid, but no android*what's that.* ambition makes you look pretty ugly* kicking and squealing gucci little piggy* you don't remember* you don't remember* why don't you remember my name* off with his head, man* off with his head, man* why don't you remember my name?*i guess he does* rain down, rain down* come on rain down on me* from a great height* from a great height * that's it, sir* you're leaving* the crackle of pigskin* the dust and the screaming* the yuppies networking* the panic, the vomit* the panic, the vomit * god loves his children* god loves his children, yeah*

* * * *

porenquanto.renatorusso

*mudaram as esta��es e nada mudou* mas eu sei que alguma coisa aconteceu* est� tudo assim t�o diferente* se lembra quando a gente chegou um dia a acreditar* que tudo era pra sempre* sem saber* que o pra sempre* sempre acaba?* mas nada vai conseguir mudar o que ficou* quando penso em algu�m* s� penso em voc�* e a� ent�o estamos bem* mesmo com tantos motivos pra deixar tudo como est�* e nem desistir, nem tentar* agora tanto faz* estamos indo de volta pra casa*

* * * *

cooling.toriamos

*maybe i didn't like to hear* but i still can't believe speed racer is dead* so then i thought i'd make some plans*but fire thought she'd really rather be water instead* and piggy got a message for me from jesus* and i've heard every word that you have said* and i know i have been driven like the snow* but this is cooling* faster than i can* this is cooling* faster than i* but do i hate what she is* or do i want to be her?* and don't we love something fresh* anything new, virgin* woman, you got too many brambles* hiding under these bushes* woman, you got too many brambles* but i always liked a good storm* always good for a storm* so then love walked up to like* and said, "i know that you don't like me much,let's go for a ride."* this ocean is wrapped around that pineapple tree* and is your place in heaven worth giving up these kisses?* and piggy got a message for me from jesus* and i've heard every word that you have said* and i know i have been driven like the snow* but this is cooling* faster than i can* faster than i can*cooling* but this is cooling* this is cooling*

* * * *

nosurprises.radiohead

* a heart that's full up like a landfill * a job that slowly kills you * bruises that won't heal** you look so tired-unhappy * bring down the government *they don't, they don't speak for us ** i'll take a quiet life * a handshake* some carbon monoxide * with no alarms and no surprises * no alarms and no surprises * no alarms and no surprises * silent silent. ** this is my final fit * my final bellyache * with no alarms and no surprises * no alarms and no surprises * no alarms and no surprises please * such a pretty house * and such a pretty garden * with no alarms and no surprises * no alarms and no surprises * no alarms and no surprises please *

* * * *

inthespringtimeofhisvoodoo.toriamos

*standin on a corner in winslow arizona* and i'm quite sure i'm in the wrong song* 2 girls 65 got a piece tied up in the back seat *"honey we're recovering christians"* in the springtime of his voodoo* he was going to show me spr�ng* and right there for a minute* i knew you so well* got an angry snatch* girls you know what i mean* when swivelin that hip doesn't do the trick* me pureed sanitarily Mr Sulu* warp speed*warp speed*warp speed*in the springtime of his voodoo* very road leads back to my door* every road i will follow*every road leads back to my door*got all your crosses loaded * and i know she's not that foxy* boys i said i know she's not that foxy* but you gotta owe something sometimes* you gotta owe* when you're your momma's sunshine* you've got to give something sometimes* when you're the sweetest cherry in an apple pie* i need some voodoo on these prunes* in the springtime of his voodoo* he was going to show me spring*

* * * *

mrzebra.toriamos

*hello mr zebra* can i have your sweater* cause it's cold cold cold* in my hole hole hole* ratatouille strychnine* sometimes she's a friend of mine* with a gigantic whirlpool that will blow your mind* hello mr zebra* ran into some confusion with a mrs crocodile* furry mussels marching on* she thinks she's kaiser wilhelm* or a civilised syllabub to blow your mind* figure it out* she's a goodtime fella* she got a little fund to fight for moneypenny's rights* figure it out* she's a goodtime fella* too bad the burial was premature she said and smiled*

* * * *

bliss.toriamos

*father i killed my monkey* i let it out* to taste the sweet of spring* wonder if i will wander out* test my tether* to see if i'm still free* from you* steady as it comes* right down* to you* i've said it all* so maybe we're a bliss of another kind* lately, i'm into circuitry* what it means to be* made of you but not enough for you* and i wonder* if you can bilocate* is that what i taste* your supernova juice* you know it's true* i'm part of you* steady as it comes* right down to you* i've said it all* so maybe you're a 4 horse engine with a power drive* a hot kachina who wants into mine* take it with your terracide* steady as it comes* right down* to you* i've said it all* so maybe we're a bliss of another kind*

* * * *

letdown.radiohead

* transport * motorways and highways * starting and then stoppping * taking off and landing * the emptiest of feelings * dissapointed people clinging onto the bottles * and when it comes its so so disapointing * let down and hanging around * crushed like a bug in the ground * let down and hanging around * shell smashed * juices flowing * wings twitch * legs are going * dont get sentimental it always ends up drivel * one day i am going to grow wings * a chemical reaction * hysterical and uselesss * hysterical and let down and hanging around * crushed like a bug in the ground * let down and hanging around * you know you know where you are when the floor collapses * falling bouncing back * and one day i am going to grow wings * a chemical reaction * hysterical and useless * let down and hanging around * crushed like a bug in the ground * let down and hanging around *

* * * *

landslide.stevienicks

*i took my love *i took it down * i climbed a mountain and i turned around * and i saw my reflection in the snow covered hills * til the landslide brought it down * oh mirror in the sky, what is love * can the child within my heart rise above * can i sail through the changing ocean tides * can i handle the seasons of my life * well i've been afraid of changing * cause i've built my life around you * but time makes you bolder * even children get older * and im getting older too * well ive been afraid of changing * cause ive built my life around you * time makes you bolder * even children get older * and im getting older too * i took my love and took it down * i climbed a mountain and i turned around * and if you see my reflection in the snow covered hills * the landslide rought it down * the landslide brought it down *

* * * *

.theres more of you. but my hands are tired. and to the rest of you, you know who you are and i thank you.

.((previous)..((older))..((guestbook))..((host))..((next)).